Bayern Munich players get nominations for BEST awards

Robert Lewandowski won Champions League title with Bayern Munich during 2019/20 season. (Photo by Matt Childs/Pool via Getty Images)
Robert Lewandowski won Champions League title with Bayern Munich during 2019/20 season. (Photo by Matt Childs/Pool via Getty Images) /

Bayern Munich players in the running for FIFA’s prestigious awards.

As 2020 is coming towards a conclusion, debates about the best player of the year gain pace across the globe. On Monday, FIFA announced nominations for the Best player of the year award and other awards in different categories. Bayern Munich has representatives in these nominations.

Robert Lewandowski is in the running for the second biggest award year. He was awarded player of the year by UEFA earlier this season. The Polish striker is the favourite to win FIFA’s Best award. The Polish striker scored 55 goals across all competitions last season. He also had ten assists to his name during a historic season.

The Poland international finally silenced critics by delivering in the Champions League. He played a pivotal role in Bayern’s second treble win in seven seasons. Lewandowski has started the new campaign on fire with 11 goals in eight Bundesliga gameweeks. Considering his individual performances and team achievements, the Pole is in the driver’s seat to win this award.

Thiago Alcantara has also been nominated for this award. The Spanish midfielder is currently playing for Liverpool, but last season he was an important midfield player for Die Roten. His performances in Europe helped Bayern to dominate some of the best teams in the world. Thiago was one of the best midfielders in the world last season.

More from Bayern Strikes

Manuel Neuer is in the running for FIFA’s best goalkeeper award. The German international was back to his best last year after a few years of trouble with injuries. Neuer was a phenomenal leader for Die Roten. He often came up with clutch saves in the biggest games. His saves in the CL final against Paris-Saint Germain got the team over the line to bring the title back to Allianz Arena.

The architect of Bayern’s excellence, Hansi Flick, has been nominated for the coach of the year award. In the space of a year, Flick has turned the fortunes of this team. The German manager guided the team to the sixth Champions League trophy, a feat that Pep Guardiola and Carlo Ancelotti couldn’t achieve during their time in Bavaria.

Similar to Lewandowski, Neuer and Flick are favourites to win awards. No other goalkeeper or manager achieved what Neuer and Flick did this year. It was a chaotic year for the people across the world due to the pandemic, but Bayern did bring joy to their fans by winning numerous trophies.

Next. Bayern Munich doubtful about offering new deal to defender. dark

The results of the awards are set to be announced on December 11. The public voting for these awards is set to be open until December 9. After winning numerous awards during UEFA’s felicitation ceremony, hopefully, Bayern players also get rewarded at FIFA’s awards.