Bayern Munich duo nominated for prestigious UEFA award

Bayern Munich duo makes the top three list for UEFA’s individual award.

It is that time of the year when the best players in the world get felicitated by UEFA for their top performances throughout the campaign. Bayern Munich won the treble during the 2019/20 season, so many players from that team are dominating the list for UEFA’s player of the year award.

Robert Lewandowski and Manuel Neuer have made the top three for this award. They will be competing with Manchester City’s Kevin De Bruyne for the trophy. Joshua Kimmich, Thomas Muller, and Thiago Alcantara (now at Liverpool) finished in the top ten list due to their consistent performances last season.

Lewandowski was the best number nine in the world last season. The Polish striker scored 55 goals across all competition along with ten assists to his name. He managed to score 15 goals in the Champions League, silencing the critics that have often pointed fingers at his record in the knockout rounds of the competition.

The Poland international also won the golden boot in the Bundesliga with 34 goals, averaging one goal per every league game. Lewandowski missed out on the European Golden boot after Ciro Immobile scored 36 goals in Serie A. The 32-year-old striker would have deservedly won Ballon d’Or this year, but France Football cancelled the award due to the pandemic.

Meanwhile, Manuel Neuer was also back to his best last season. After struggling with injuries for two seasons, Neuer started delivering high-quality performances in goal. He ended the campaign with 22 clean sheets in 51 games across all competitions.

Neuer was particularly exceptional in the semi-final and final of the Champions League. Lyon were dominating the early exchanges of the game in the semi-final, but Neuer kept them at bay by making significant saves. In the final, Neuer came up with big saves after Die Roten took the lead early in the second half. On the ball, Neuer was sublime throughout the season, playing a crucial in the building up moves from the back. (Stats courtesy: Transfermarkt)

Hansi Flick is also in the race to win the coach of the year award. The German will be joined by his compatriots-Jurgen Klopp and Julian Nagelsmann on the podium. Since Flick guided the club to a historic treble after taking over the managerial position in November, he is favourite to win this award.

Want your voice heard? Join the Bayern Strikes team!

Write for us!

Lewandowski and Neuer are favourites to win the award over De Bruyne due to the impact of their contribution during the treble-winning campaign. The results of both awards will be announced at the start of October. At the moment, it is looking likely that both awards will be coming to Munich.